Virtual Field Trips

I use virtual field trips in the classroom regularly as a means to connect the content we are learning to the real world. If we are learning about supply and demand, we may tour Hershey’s Chocolate Factory, through this video. Or, if we are learning about adult and baby animal names, then we may tour the Virtual San Diego Zoo. Although my school is located in Atlanta, my students can still travel the world.

If we are studying Asia, then they can take a virtual walk along the Great Wall of China and see the surrounding areas via Air Pano. If we are learning about the 13 original colonies, then we may take a tour the virtual field trip through Plimoth.org.

globe-32299_640

The various forms of technology allow me to take learning outside of the walls in my classroom. I am able to teach my students from beyond the property line of my school. My students and I, both, enjoy these virtual field trips we take around the world, and I look forward to hosting many more.

Leave a Reply

